Misskatherine333's Blog


Concepts and Issues
February 22, 2010, 1:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

When thinking about the key concepts, i think it is very important to leanr them a remeber them although my peice. There is a is way to remeber them that i have listed below, that i found in “Video Production” By Steve Dawkins and Ian Wynd on page 8.

“I institution

C contexts of production

A audiences

R  representation

L language

I ideology

N narrative

G genre”

Institution

I have to consider institution when producing my film, i have watched existing film shorts, by independant and main stream producers and made a note of the producers in order to carry out some research.

Contexts of Production

The context in which my film short is created in is very important.  I have got to be aware of the histrical, technological, econmic, social and political context of production.  Technically we are living in a digital age and becuase of this factor i want to film my peice in high defination or wide , rather than 4:3. If i cant get the correct eqipment to enable me to do that, i must do some aspect ratio converting in my edit from 4:3 -16:9 in as part of my edit, in order for my film to not look old fashioned.

Audience

I want to make a film for an audience to enjoy, and in order to do this i will have to indentify my audience, and make asumptions  about their tastes and interests. I am hoping to attract a younger audience 15-25 years old roughly becuase my main character is a male who is around that age, and i want the audience to try and indentify with him. Any members of my audience who are suffering with mental disorders or regular drug abusers may be effected my peice, becuase of the negative way my character comes across.  I have got to be really careful about causing offence even though it is only a drama.

Representation

My drama  is about a man who is suffering from personality disorders and dillusion due to his drug abuse. Drugs are seen in alot of peoples eyes and fin and relatively harmless, my drama is highlighting the dark side to the buzz. It is all about a man that had spend his life on smack, and is riddled with personality disorders, and dillusion. He is representing someone with a perosnlaity disorder due to drug abuse, and in my peice is it being represented in a negative way due to his collaspe at the end and his behaviour thoughout.  Any members of my audience who are suffering with mental disorders or regular drug abusers may be effected my peice, becuase of the negative way my character comes across.  I have got to be really careful about causing offence even though it is only a drama.

Language

My film is a short film, and therefore needs to have appropiate film grammer.

Ideology

There is a wide range of short films available, and i have watched several on varios different websites

Narrative

My film has a inear narrative (start-middle-end_ in that order).  I only want my drama to be short and i dont hink thats enough time, to be jumping around in time, and expecting the audience to follow. Most film shorts i have watched as part of my research were linear.

Genre

My film’s sub-genre is a thriller, and therefore the audience will have expectations of my film to meet the, set codes of conventions of a thriller. However my film is also a short, which i think has its own codes and coventations and will give my audience contrasting expections to my sub-genre.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

